Tonight I was honored to attend the induction ceremony for the HMHS chapter of the National Honor Society. The cornerstone of the organization is "noblesse oblige" - "the idea that one has an obligation to use one's talents, skills and knowledge for the betterment of others."  

This reminder of noblesse oblige struck me hard, as I realized that it is the very reason I have been working so hard getting my message out about serving on the school board. I want to use my "talents, skills and knowledge" to help ensure that our schools are the best they can be.

I am lucky to have gained a great education in public schools, followed by college and law school. I always knew that I wanted to go into public service, so I have worked in social servicesprograms since earning my law degree.

The talents skills and knowledge that I want to bring to the Board are those I have honed over the course of my education and career. I am a policy analyst. I spend every working day reading, analyzing legislation, regulations, and policies to determine their impact on programs. The school district , obviously, must operate within the bounds of the laws and regulations that apply to public education in New Jersey. In addition to analyzing requirements, I write policies that enable our programs to comply with these requirements, yet also meet the needs of the public we serve.

These are skills that will be very useful as a member of the BOE. As I have discussed before, it is important that our schools serve both our children and our community. The ability to recognize these needs and design programs and policy that both satisfy legal requirements and meet the needs of the schools and community is a skill that I will bring to the Board. I very much look forward to the opportunity to use these "talents, skills and knowledge for the betterment" of our educational system.



Leave a Reply.